MULTIPLE CHOICE EXAM QUESTIONS 2 – AMINO ACIDS AND PROTEINS!

AMINO ACIDS AND PROTEINS

This key may be used to answer the following questions. Choose ONE answer per question.

a)      I & II only

b)      I & III only

c)      II only

d)     I, II & IV only

e)      I, II, III & IV

pope-ready-rock

 

1. Amino acids consist of

 I. Amino group

II. Carboxylic acid group

III. Phosphate group

iV. R-group

 

2. The bond formed between 2 amino acids is a

I. Disulphide bond

II. Peptide bond

III. Hydrogen bond

IV. Glycosidic bond

 

3. The conversion reactions that convert cysteine to cystine, vice versa, are known as

I. Oxidation

II. Photophosphorylation

III. Reduction

IV. Hydrolysis

 

4. Functions of proteins

I. Receptors

II. Transport

III. Inhibitors

IV. Provide energy

 

5. Types of R-groups

I. Aliphatic

II. Aromatic

III. Polar

IV. Negatively charged

 

6. Amino acids and Protein tests include:

I. Ninhydrin

II. Protein precipitation

III. Seliwanoff’s test

IV. Biuret reaction

 

7. A peptide bond

I. Is a covalent bind between α-amino group of amino acids to a carboxyl group of another

II. Links together long un-branched chains

III. Needs H2O when bonding

IV. Produces H2O upon bonding

 

8. Where is/are the location/s of the side-chains of the amino acids positioned on the cylindrical helix?

I. Along the inside

II. Along the outside

III. Randomly positioned within the inner space

IV. All side-chains are removed upon formation of the helix

 

9. Essential amino acid/s:

I. Arginine

II. Lysine

III. Tryptophan

IV. Methionine

 

10. Which amino acid/s increases brain function and promotion of the central nervous system?

I. Glutamine

II. Methionine

III. Glycine

IV. Cysteine

images (6)

11 thoughts on “MULTIPLE CHOICE EXAM QUESTIONS 2 – AMINO ACIDS AND PROTEINS!

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web
    site before but after going through some of the articles I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

